In the USA veganism is a growing trend. Veganism is a way of living that seeks to exclude, as far as possible and practicable, all forms of exploitation of, and cruelty to, animals for food, clothing, or any other purpose. Veganism has increased in popularity due to vegan celebrities such as Bill Clinton and Ellen Degeneres. Veganism seems like a large commitment for people who are looking to live an ethical life which might be why veganism is also known as the Vegan Lifestyle.
Vegan lifestyles extend beyond just not eating animal products and vegans take their moral responsibilities further than simply cutting out meat, dairy, and eggs from their diets. Veganism encompasses many things you do in your daily life ranging from clothing to make-up to shoes. Veganism was popular in the ’70s but has recently experienced a revival in popularity (Vegan 2015). Veganism is at the forefront of living ethically and compassionately with all forms of life.
It focuses on nonviolence in an active way rather than only in one’s thoughts; it is more than simply refusing to eat animal products ( Veganism 2015). Vegan clothing has also increased in popularity. Veganism is more than just not eating animals; it encompasses many parts of one’s life including clothes, shoes, and makeup. Vegan shoes are becoming popular as they offer people vegan options for footwear (Vegan Shoes 2017).
For food many vegan options are available. Vegan options are becoming more widely available in restaurants because of the demand for vegan products (Savvy 2017). Vegan food has also boomed in popularity with many people looking to live healthier lives ( Veganism 2015).
What Flavors of Takis are Vegan? (2022)
FLAVORS OF TAKIS Veganism is a growing community that focuses on living life without any animal products. Veganism has become increasingly popular because of the positive effects it has on our health, animals, and the environment. Veganism can include having a plant-based diet which means avoiding all meat including beef, pork, chicken, and seafood. Veganism can also include avoiding all animal byproducts such as milk, eggs, cheese, etc. Veganism is a state of mind that promotes love and kindness while showing respect for other living beings.
The Vegan community came together in outrage when they found out that several flavors of Takis included gelatin which is derived from animal collagen. Gelatin is a colorless, odorless substance that is used as a gelling agent. It can be made from animal parts including pig skin, cow hooves, or bones.
Takis included some flavors that are vegan friendly so vegans could continue their lifestyle while enjoying Takis at the same time. On November 18th PepsiCo released a statement saying they would make all of their Takis vegan friendly. The new flavors include Fuego, Flamas, Limon, and Sabor Dulce (PepsiCo Statement 2017).
A Brief History of Takis: Takis is a tortilla chip snack that is made by the PepsiCo Company. Takis come in a variety of flavors. Some flavors include Fuego (Hot Chili Pepper and Lime), Flamas (Fiery Habanero and Mango), Limon (Lemon and Chile, Salt and Lime), and Sabor Dulce (Sweet Plantain). The original Takis are made with non-vegan ingredients including artificial flavors and MSG.
The company Takis was founded in 1976 as Barcel by Ramon and Jesus Lopez. In the 80s the brothers invested $20,000 into a factory to produce chips that they had created called “Takis.” The original line of flavorings included lemon, onion, barbecue beef, and sour cream (History 2015).
The brothers partnered with PepsiCo in 2000 because they were unable to keep up with the demand for Takis at their factory. The company was forced to shut down its original factory due to a lack of products. PepsiCo gave the brothers a loan to purchase equipment so they could produce more chips (History 2015).
Takis has become popular even though they are Mexican snack food. They have been the official chip sponsor for the NBA D-League since 2012 (Takis). They also sponsored MLB’s Cincinnati Reds in 2015 and 2016 (Sports Business Journal).
Vegan Taki Flavors:
- Fuego (Purple Bag)
- Nitro (Black & Red Bag)
- Salsa Brava (Yellow Bag)
- Zombie Flavor (Green Bag)
What Are The Ingredients?
The ingredients in Takis vary between flavors. Some common ingredients are corn, vegetable oil, monosodium glutamate (MSG), salt, and sugar. Some vegan-friendly flavors include Fuego which is made with aged chili peppers, nacho chips, lime juice powder, soy lecithin, and salt. The ingredients in Nitro include black pepper, white onion, nacho chips, lime juice powder, soy lecithin, and salt. Vegan flavors of Takis such as Fuego and Nitro are free from any animal products.
Should you eat them if you’re vegan?
Takis are a convenient and delicious snack to have. They contain no animal byproducts but they do include some artificial flavors that can be harmful if eaten in excess. It’s best to eat the chips only every once in a while as a treat!
Frequently Asked Question
Can you freeze takis?
A: Yes, you can freeze takis if they aren’t already stale! Just make sure that the bag is tightly sealed before putting it in the freezer.
Q: Where do Takis get their flavors from?
A: The original Takis are made with non-vegan ingredients including artificial flavors and MSG. Some vegan-friendly flavors include Fuego which is made with aged chili peppers, nacho chips, lime juice powder, soy lecithin, and salt.
Read More: Vegan Options at TGI Friday’s
The marketing strategies of PepsiCo have made Taki popular. With sponsorships to the MLB and NBA D-League, it is evident that the business has grown exponentially over the past 10 years. Takis are a healthy alternative to other chips on the market because they don’t include any artificial colors or trans fats.
The biggest problem I’ve found with eating Takis is that they are addicting! Once you’ve tried them it’s hard to not eat the entire bag. Future of Takis: Takis will continue to be a popular and successful tortilla chip snack! PepsiCo has recently created vegan flavors of their most popular Takis which is great for vegans and vegetarians. It’s also awesome that people may enjoy tasty snacks without harming animals.