A vegan is a person who applies the vegan philosophy to their life. The vegan lifestyle consists of refusing to consume animal products, not using clothing or other items that are made from animals, and being aware of the impact that your choices have on animals and the environment.
The vegan diet does not allow for any food that comes from an animal including meat, eggs, and dairy products. The vegan lifestyle has been in existence for a long time but it continues to become more popular as the world becomes more conscious of veganism and vegan choices. Many people choose to be vegan for health reasons or due to their love of animals.
There are some who believe that veganism is not a choice but rather an ethical obligation. Animal rights advocates and vegetarians may be drawn to veganism as a natural progression of their philosophy on life.
Animal crackers are a favorite snack among children, but they are not an option for vegans because they contain gelatin which is made from animal by-products. Fortunately there are animal cracker alternatives that are produced using all natural ingredients and no animal derivatives.
Read More: Vegan SunChip Flavors: Which Ones Are Vegan?
About Animal Crackers
Animal Cracker is a snack food made by Nabisco. It consists of un-popped popcorn and whole grain wheat that is baked with various kinds of natural and artificial flavors, resulting in the animal shapes we know them for. The recipe has changed over time and continues to evolve as different tastes come into fashion. At one point the recipe included gelatin.
Around 2015 Nabisco changed to an all-natural version, free of animal ingredients and with non-GMO sourced ingredients (a GMO is when the DNA in an organism has been altered in order for it to produce a different result than what occurs in nature).
Many animal crackers are now produced with all-natural flavors and colors as well as organic whole wheat and rice flour. There are also varieties that contain no trans fats, which is a type of fat that has been shown to be detrimental to the cardiovascular system.
Animal Crackers are a very sought after snack among children. Many parents use the animal shapes to help teach their child about different animals, colors, and even counting. Animal crackers are so popular because of the simple fact that they taste good.
They are very crunchy which appeals to many people’s sense of texture as well as being slightly sweet for a more desirable taste. Animal crackers are also very versatile. They can be broken apart and used as a topping on ice cream, cereal, or yogurt.
They can be added to trail mix or fruit salad to add some extra crunch and sweetness to the dish. One of the most popular uses is simply eating them alone as a snack food.
Animal crackers are a popular snack food and they provide many benefits to those who eat them. They taste good, they can be used in a variety of applications, and they have healthy ingredients packed inside. However, when you are practicing veganism them animal shapes can be problematic.
Must Read: Which Flavors Of Takis Are Vegan?
What Brands & Types Of Animal Crackers Are Vegan?
The people who do not want to support the killing of animals for food will be happy to know that Nabisco offers an alternative: Barnum’s Animal cookies. This is a similar recipe that contains no meat or by-products; it is free from artificial ingredients and has non-GMO sourced ingredients.
It also uses natural flavors like its counterpart (animal crackers) does. The milk used in these recipes comes from cows who were not treated with rBGH (Recombinant Bovine Growth Hormone). People who purchase this brand have the satisfaction of knowing that it is all-natural and not processed with any chemicals.
Barnum’s Animal crackers are chocolate covered snacks that consist of peanut butter and whole grain wheat. This vegan option is produced by Nabisco, the same company that produces animal crackers. Animal cookies are all-natural, with no artificial ingredients like color or flavorings.
The milk used in this product is GMO free and sourced from cows that were not treated with rBGH (a GMO is when the DNA in an organism has been altered in order for it to produce a different result than what occurs in nature).
The cookies are also made using organic wheat flour and sugar cane. People who purchase this brand have the satisfaction of knowing that it is all-natural and not processed with any chemicals.
Phoney Baloney is another all-natural alternative to animal crackers. It contains no meat or byproducts, no artificial ingredients, GMO-free sourced milk, no preservatives, and it uses natural flavors like its counterpart (animal crackers).
Read More: Which Hershey’s Syrups Are Vegan?
The Phoney Baloneys are made from organic whole wheat and rice flour as well as GMO-free sourced milk. This brand is produced by Golden Temple, a company that also produces other vegan snacks like vegan cookies and organic oatmeal.
Phoney Baloney animal cookie’s ingredients include: whole grain wheat, organic raw cane sugar, peanut butter (no artificial flavors or colors), non-GMO sourced milk from cows not treated with rBGH, and cocoa butter.
In general, brands that have been omitted from this list are those whose recipes have changed over the last few years to include animal by-products as a means for cheapening costs – as well as those who use GMO sourced ingredients.
Many Nabisco products contain all-natural ingredients and GMO-free sourced milk. These include Barnum’s animal crackers, Pascall mints, Teddy grahams, Cheese Nips, and 100% whole wheat cheez-its. Look for these products to ensure that they are vegan.
By law a cookie can only be labeled as an “animal cracker” if it contains no meat or byproducts and is wholly derived from a vegetable source. Animal crackers also must include some form of life, such as a bone or an animal figure. This is why the term “vegan” and “animal cookie” are interchangeable: vegan animal cookies contain no meat or byproducts and are wholly derived from a vegetable source.
Vegan Animal Crackers
- Trader Joe’s Organic Animal Crackers (Both Chocolate and Original)
- Barnum’s Animal Crackers (Original)
- Costco’s Kirkland Brand Animal Crackers (Original)
- Stauffer’s Iced Animal Crackers (Frosted)
- Annie’s Homegrown Organic Animal Cookies (Original)
- Stauffer’s Animal Crackers (Original & Chocolate)
Also Read: Vegan Options at Texas Roadhouse
Frequently Asked Questions
What are vegan animal crackers?
Vegan animal cookies are treats that consist of no meat or byproducts, contain no artificial ingredients, GMO-free sourced milk, and use natural flavors like its counterpart (animal crackers).
Where can you purchase these products?
Typically the best place to find them is at your local health food store or in the natural foods section of your grocery store.
What do these products taste like?
They taste just like animal crackers, but are usually organic and vegan.
How much does it cost to buy these products?
Depending on where you purchase them, they can be found anywhere between $2.50 and $5.00 per box (4 crackers).
What are the ingredients in vegan animal cookies?
Ingredients vary depending on the brand you purchase, but generally consist of organic wheat flour, organic sugar cane, non-GMO sourced milk from cows not treated with rBGH, and natural flavors.
Read More: Vegan Options at Zaxby’s
Vegan animal crackers are cookies that are all-natural, lack artificial ingredients, GMO-free sourced milk, meet requirements for being labeled as an “animal cookie”, and have natural flavors. Some of the most common vegan animal crackers include Barnum’s animal crackers, Pascall mints, Teddy grahams, Cheese Nips, and 100% whole wheat cheez-its.
Look for these products to ensure that they are vegan animal crackers. Many Nabisco products contain all-natural ingredients and GMO-free sourced milk. These include Barnum’s animal crackers, Pascall mints, Teddy grahams, Cheese Nips, and 100% whole wheat cheez-its. Look
Vegan animal cookies taste just like their counterparts, but contain no meat or byproducts and are wholly derived from a vegetable source. They can be found at your local health food store or in the natural foods section of your grocery store. Their cost can vary depending on which brand you purchase, but generally cost around $2.50 to $5.00 per box (4 crackers).
The ingredients in vegan animal crackers change depending on the brand you purchase, but consist of organic wheat flour, organic sugar cane, non-GMO sourced milk from cows not treated with rBGH, and natural flavors.